the little things

14 01 2009

Well, its the final week, and I couldn’t be more excited. OK, I bet I could be more excited if I was actually getting on the plane right now instead of typing this blog, but whatever, technicalities. However, it almost feels like the increased excitement of this last week is going to make every little annoyance that comes with the territory of being in Iraq that much worse. Thus, making the coming week seem that much longer.

I am happy to report that the last aircraft that we should have to work on at this place is in the hangar now, and should be done by the time I get to work tonight, assuming nothing catastrophic occurs. That is a very exciting milestone in and of itself. No more scheduled maintenance. No more aircraft washes in freezing temperatures. No more picking up all the slack for another troop that apparently can’t function for themselves (you know who you are).

However, the annoyances that I mentioned still linger. Like the fact that the power has been out in my room, for a notable period of time, 4 out of the last 5 days, or that hot water is nearly a myth. In fact, I’m not even sure hot water exists anymore. Does heat exist? Is there a god? These are all very good questions to be asking, people!

When the power is out I like to sneak around in the dark like Rambo.

When the power is out I like to sneak around in the dark like Rambo.

I just want to come home one day, have power to check my email from the room, and then have the availability of some hot water to cleanse myself comfortably. Fuck! I mean come on, it is somebody’s job to ensure that all these housing units have power, and from what I have seen, they are failing on a daily basis. Then, when it does come back on, it fries my computer, losing everything on my hard drive, and forcing me to restore it. I can’t win!

Looking at the big picture though, I guess I just shouldn’t get my hopes up for basic amenities over this next week. I should just expect it to suck ass, deal with it and drive on, and know ultimately it doesn’t matter because I’m out of my hell in 7 days. Then I can go home expecting these things, and actually have them too.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

